OUT TODAY: The Hook Journal's Charity EP 'The July EP'

Out today is the anticipated Hook Journal Compilation Charity EP!

The EP features 5-tracks from some of Philly's best, and most talented bands including Nikolai, yeenar, Architect The Destroyer, Andross, and Adventure LostJuly's EP donations will go to Books Through Bars, a non-profit organization dedicated to the faciliation of books & education texts to inmates all across the United States. Located in Philadelphia, PA this organization is close to our heart, and we're excited for the opportunity to help a hardworking organization doing work for an incredible cause!

Check out the EP below, and make sure to purchase it to help donate to a great organization!

We will also be accepting book donations along with this July EP, and you can check out our Facebook for more information on how to donate books!

Exclusive Premiere: The City View Shares Music Video

Our good friends from New Hampshire, The City View, have partenered with us to share their debut music video for their track, "An Hour and Twenty Minutes and 18,000 Days." 

Check it out below!

The video was created in collaboration with Dark Triad Records!

The track is an extension of the recently released Half Asleep, The Hook's current album of the month! The 11-track debut album is The City View's perfect envision of their sound. A dreamy, haunted, surreal collective of sounds and voices to get lost in.

Check out the trippy video above, and get lost in what The City View has to offer. This is a band you definitely don't want to sleep on.

For more check out The City View's social media below!

The City View: Facebook // Twitter // Bandcamp

Exclusive Premiere: Secret Nudist Friends Share 'Met You At That Show' With The Hook

Photography:  Jeanette D. Moses

Photography: Jeanette D. Moses

Straight out of the Philadelphia scene, Secret Nudist Friends have been making waves with their good vibes and good music. The garage/post-punk/surf trio is excited to premiere their newest track, "Met You At That Show," here at The Hook!

Based in Philadelphia, with strong roots in the Brooklyn and Philly scenes, Secret Nudist Friends was originally, the Brooklyn based bedroom project of Edward Krosney of The Fancy Balloons. Krosney teamed up with former bandmate Matthew Klauser to bring the project to the live stage, and thus the band went on to feature several lineups until they met Brian Hullihen, who brought new life and collaboration to the project. Recently, Krosney has passed the project over to the loving hands of Klauser and Hullihen who make up the new trio with bass player Andy Slepman.

SNF states that they "draws its sound from the psych rock roots of the 60s, such bands as the Zombies, Beach Boys, and Beatles, as much as current garage and psych groups such as Tame Impala, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, and Thee Oh Sees." The band has released several singles, an EP, and are working to release a full length in 2017. (Woohoo, that's this year)

Check out this exclusive premiere below!

The smooth track is an exciting establishment in a series of upcoming events for SNF, including a release show on March 6th at the Tralfamadore, which kicks off a month long SXSW tour! "Met You At That Show" vibes so hard as spring approaches, and relives that fateful experience of meeting someone at a show (do you know that experience, we do).

The track was written and performed by Secret Nudist Friends, with Matty Klauser -(vocals), guitar, Brian Hullihen (drums), and Andy Slepman (Bass). And in the usual DIY fashion, the single was recorded January-February 2017 at Tralfamadore in South Philly!

If you're stoked on Secret Nudist Friends (like we are), then you should check out their upcoming tour dates, and then check out their social media to keep up on all things SNF!

Secret Nudist Friends: Facebook // Bandcamp

EXCLUSIVE: greygoesblack Premieres 'Please'

The Hook is excited to work in tandem with Central NJ indie/electronic group, greygoesblack to premiere their latest single, "Please."

"Please" is the first track off of an upcoming 6-track EP that greygoesblack has spent months working on and perfecting. And inside there was only water will be released Feb 2017 with a limited snow globe USB edition and a standard compact disc along with all digital formats! Which is exciting news for listeners and fans (like us)!

Check out "Please" streaming exclusively on Soundcloud here at The Hook below!

greygoesblack consists of Matt (vocals, guitar), James (bass, keys), and Steve (drums, electronics), and after releasing 2 EPs, the group decided to work on a more complex and deeper sound. To do this they began adding more electronic elements to their songs, which culminated In April 2016 as they went into coffee Haus studios with Engineer Ben Feldman. After 7 months of chipping away on Friday nights they have finally finished their 6 track EP, and inside there was only water.

The band says that this new album showcases a more mature and darker electronic side of the band. "Please" highlights this with in a few different, new, and exciting ways from previous tracks that we've encountered from greygoesblack! Between the wailing, longing vocals from Matt - and the keys highlighting each hard hitting note, while the quiet of the guitar and drums keep rhythmic balance in a song that reminds me of bands like Coldplay.

We personally really enjoyed the new track, and are exciting to witness the completed, finalized EP! For more on greygoesblack, this premiere, or other news, check out their social media links below!

greygoesblack: Facebook // bandcamp