Hollow Sunshine Announces New Mini LP

Iron Pier, an independent record label based in Brooklyn, NY, is excited to announce the release of Bible Sea, the new mini-LP from California duo Hollow Sunshine and the first entry in the label’s new mini-LP series.

Hollow Sunshine acts as the creative union between songwriter/instrumentalist Reuben Sawyer and vocalist/lyricist Morgan Enos. In contrast to the duo’s previous LPs Held Above and Bring GoldBible Sea ditches a traditional rock band dynamic in favor of disfigured samples, 808 sequences and driving industrial percussion. The harsh, otherworldly atmosphere created by the music is soothed by Morgan Enos’s melodic vocal approach. “We wanted something very modern,” Enos says. “Bible Sea is a curveball. Reuben and I work best headed into uncharted territory.” Sawyer describes Bible Sea as the tension between animal and machine—a cold and detached record. 

Bible Sea demonstrates the depth and ingenuity Sawyer and Enos are capable of on any release. Sawyer says that the goal was to create new and refreshing sounds and take as many risks as possible, putting the philosophy of the band succinctly: “music has no place in the hands of safety.”

Check out some of their tour dates.

West Coast June Tour w/Death Bells (Australia)

June 13 - Oakland, CA @ Golden Bull

June 15 - Portland, OR @ High Water Mark

June 16 - Seattle, WA @ Central Saloon

June 17 - Eugene, WA @ Wandering Goat

June 18 - San Francisco, CA @ Hemlock Tavern

June 19 - Los Angeles, CA

Bible Sea, Track Listing:

1. Bad Company

2. Masks of Saturn

3. Bible Sea

4. Jewel After Another

5. Reservoir

6. Hades

Hollow Sunshine:  Bandcamp //Facebook//