Inspector 34 - Don't Worry This Is Ok Review

Music you’ve heard for the very first time, but takes you to a place where everyone knows your name? That’s precisely where you’re going from the very first strum, the opening note of Lowell Massachusetts powerhouse Inspector 34.

This isn’t your typical EP either, Don’t Worry This Is OK, dropped with a transformative music video for their lead track “Fed Up.” Talk about hearing your guitar and seeing it in action, too! A band, who aren’t strangers to tremendous talent, are showcased front and center as the collective vision of Jim Warren, Pat Auclair, Silas Price, Ben Kaplowitz, and Alexandra Derderian! At just under 15 minutes (but you’ll wish for 5x that length in the end) this quartet of songs will leave you hungry for more! It’s all highs and no lows from here on out!

Your guide for the ride, check out the tracklist below!


Don’t Worry This Is Ok:
1. Fed up
2. Hurts
3. Try So Hard
4. That Charming Man

If you gave this a listen before continuing, then welcome back! If not, then buckle in because you’re headed to transcendent places.

Have you ever wanted a soundtrack for your life? Needed something better than words to describe a feeling? Well look no further my friends. The opening track encapsulates you with a magnetic ambience, you are transfixed by the swelling of passion around you. Every track feels like the crest and fall of a wave, blending perfectly together. Sometimes we need more than words and other times we need outstanding voices! If I could sing, I would sing the praises of the vocals throughout this EP. What are a completely spellbinding incantation that takes you to the epicenter that is raw emotion.

In the mood for sexy baselines? Prepare to be seduced. Need a little bit of folk twang to start your day? Then look no further! Inspector 34 delivers on every front you’ve thought of and probably some you haven’t and that’s just four songs. Imagine what they have in store for you next!

Picking a favorite song here is difficult but we’re going with Track 3, ‘Try So Hard,’ and it does. I wish this track was longer, it’s the first song I played over again, and again, the attitude is infectious, the perfect illustration of what this band is capable of. This is the song you want headlining your life and playing in the background every time you do something “Cool guys don’t look at explosions” type worthy.

I have been in and around the music scene a very long time, and I struggle to imagine a more consistent, powerful band for my first formal review here for The Hook. You heard it hear first before you no doubt here it everywhere, you are going to want more, if you ever need a formula on how to do it right, this is it.

Let’s listen together, soon, and take a deeper inspection into Inspector 34 using their social media links down below!

Inspector 34: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram //Spotify

Sleeping Patterns - A Little Blood Never Hurt Anyone Review

Out of Massachusetts comes an exciting addition to post-rock, Sleeping Patterns. The band is celebrating the recent release of their debut LP, A Little Blood Never Hurt Anyone.

Sleeping Patterns is a 5-piece post-rock/emo band from Worcester, Massachusetts and A Little Blood Never Hurt Anyone follows two previous releases, an acoustic session and an EP. The album was released on 12” Vinyl/CD through Honest Face Records and Counter Intuitive Records. When asked about the album title and artwork, Guitarist/Vocalist Zach Boudrot said, “The album artwork is a representation of the loss of innocence that accompanies emotional and physical pain. Learning to grow, and using that as a catalyst for change in your life is extremely important to benefiting your well-being as a person.” 

The 11-track album is an incredibly emotional and technically exciting album for listeners and fans. It's a nice change of pace for the band as well, while this album exudes a confidence that the 2015 EP, Prejudice, seems to lack in both experience and willingness. 

Check out the tracklist below!

A Little Blood Never Hurt Anyone Tracklist:
1. Prelude
2. Choose
3. Barely Enough
4. Raindance
5. Cigarette Song
6. A Little Blood
7. Embryonal Carcinoma
8. I Wrote This Song While Thinking Of You
9. Cut Ties
10. Breaking A Lung
11. Obsolete

I'm not one for Preludes, and Sleeping Patterns' does little for me in terms of this album. The prelude also feels a little bit darker than some of the corresponding tracks it follows. However, this entire album is really stinkin' good.

Each track is emotional, easy to follow, and leaves me with the desire to play it over and over again. The journey that A Little Blood Never Hurt Anyone takes you on is one you want to memorize lyrics too. It's a grown up version of what Sleeping Patterns has been doing - more focused musically and instrumentally, hitting hard into love and loss. This album also has some of the best track titles I've ever seen, as I'm always into the "I Wrote This Song While Thinking Of You" or "Breaking A Lung."

Either way, check this out, an album you definitely want to be a part of and keep up with Sleeping Patterns on their social media, which you can check out below!

Sleeping Patterns: Facebook